Skip to main content

Guatemala: Caught in a Flood

6:44pm
Today Melanie and I packed up at the beautiful Earth Lodge. It was a little bit drizzly in the morning . We had to was up the steep hill with all of our things. I was pretty warm at the tom! Then we waited for the shuttle with some guy whose name starts with an M from Australia. He was an interesting fellow and we chatted about travel and life. It is always fun meeting cool travelers because they always have the best stories. Once we got to antigua I helped us all figure out how much the shuttle was because I was the one who spoke the most spanish. M-guy took off as soon as we got the money figured out, solo traveler.

It took a bit to find our hostel. I had to ask for directions. Our Hostel Capitan Tom isn't fancy at all but the woman at the front desk is very nice. When we came in from the rain she told us to grab tea or coffee to stay warm (I won't mention that the sugar had bugs crawling in it...)

We spent most of the afternoon walking around the city. We found the chocolate museum which had a bunch of deliciousness. We were greater by a woman who spoke to us in spanish and I was able to figure out most of what she said. We tasted a bunch of things and my favorite was the chocolate tea!!

We walked to the arch, were about to take pictures and then it started to downpour. We were stuck inside this very expensive jade shop which was kinda cool because this woman was following us around and telling us about mayan history and the different colors of jade like black and lavender!

But the rain sucked and eventually we had to venture out in it. I wanted to show Mel the textile storeI went to with the girls. I really REALLY want to buy this blanket that is hand made and dyed with plants. Its $150. I dont have a job. Or a house. Sad.

Anyway, after we went there, we went back tot he hostel and I debated the blanket a lot, and also rested.

We went back to the place and I bought a scarf for my grandmother because it screamed her name (I dont buy gifts because I have to, I buy them only if I think of you when I see it. Gifts are more special that way.). The woman at the textile shop suggested a place for us to eat that was all organic. And all in spanish. I had to try and figure out what to eat and it was a little pricey. I had the weirdest tostadas that were weird, but I scarfed it down cause I was starving.

Then to walk back in the rain. SO MUCH RAIN. The streets were flooded. We had to figure out how to get across. Someone used the back of a truck like a bridge, so I did too! Some nice gentleman helped us to jump the rest of the way to the middle of the street and then a short walk to jump over another puddle. It was madness really. My shoes are soaked now. I wish I would have taken a picture of how flooded the roads were.

Im in the common room of the hostel now watching some jackie chan movie that is dubbed over in spanish. I dont really know what is happening but its kind of really entertaining as I write this. The lobby is so run down. The couch and chair have holes in them and theres so much crap just piling up. The guy who runs this place is snoring on the couch. The kitchen was dirty and like I said, bugs... Mel and I get to sleep in a double bed together and the woman is kinda weirded out by it (she keeps apologizing for the inconvenience, its normal for american girls lol). Its creaky but its cheap. Tomorrow we will be staying at El Hostal which is SO much nicer.

9 am
Found a cockroach in the morning after we woke up in the bedroom. Gross. Good thing we didnt find it last night...

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Red = Passion

Yesterday, I had a shit-eating grin as I was winding through local streets, pedaling and feeling the warm breeze in my hair. I recently, in the last month, moved to the DC area and have been struggling to fit in and find my place. This month, Ty and I got our own room in a place that we share with a few others that are our roommates in our new town. But there are still so many things that are missing in my life. I need yoga, rock climbing and freedom to get around on my own. On Tuesday afternoon, I took that first step at transportation freedom in the form of a two wheeled vehicle. I took the metro to Virginia which is a bit of a ride from my new home on the Maryland side. I stopped at one of the last metro stops and walked out into the sunny, nice weather. I was meeting someone from craigslist who was selling a little, red Schwinn bike. I exited the station and immediately saw the little red bike being held up by a sweet looking, older man. I introduced myself, took the bike for a...

Guatemala: Day One Adventure

The following is a conglomeration of journal writings that I made about my travel day to San Marcos, Guatemala and some additions to make it all run together smoothly: 11/5/15 6:60am Chicago I JUST made my first flight. It helped that the dude behind me in the security line was on my flight. We chatted a bit about travel and it eased my mind a little. I get so stressed out when Im not early... I had to take the earliest bus from Milwaukee at 4:30 am. I slept three hours. 10:55am ATL I think I smell... I didn't do that deodorant thing this morning. Whatever. I had less than an hour layover and had to run through the huge ATL airport to get to my gate. I got there with a bit of time though which is nice. Im between two not so fun humans. One is a very large man who thinks he can have half of my seat (though at least he seems nice) and an older woman who I don't think speaks good spanish or engligh. Also, when she's passed out its fine but as soon as she wakes up, the ...

Eating Like Crap is Crap

Im trying really hard not to spend money on food as there is so much food here at camp. Its not horrible food but its definitely not the best. So, with me trying not to spend money on food, I haven't been eating the greatest. I don't know if its because of other reasons, but Ive been feeling like shit lately and Im attributing it to lack of nutrients. I dont know how people eat crap all the time and survive. It must be a skill. I was eating alright about two weeks ago but this last week it hasn't been very pretty. Ive been a scavenger and theres been a lot of bread and fake meat and here is how I feel: Im tired ALL the time. No matter how many naps I take or hours I sleep a night, Im always exhausted by mid-day and just want to lay around, sleep and do nothing. Ive also been starting to get weak headaches throughout the day. Or having sore muscles from doing minimal exercise. That also makes me just want to do nothing. My stomach is also crazy. It hurts if I eat som...