Skip to main content

Guatemala: Friday the 13th

4:04pm
Its friday the thirteenth and I didn't even realize!

So, today I slept in until 7 am and took an hour and a half nap mid-day. Ive had an annoying headache all day. I drank, ate and took a nap but it was still there. I think my sleep schedule is just weird...

Melanie and I ate lunch (an avocado, pesto and grilled cheese sandwich. as good as it sounds) at the lodge and then went on a little adventure hike. There are little trails all over this mountain because of the locals. Thats how they get around.
On the way to el mirador, the lookout, we were unsure if we were on the right path. We had a map but it wasn't very good. I asked almost everyone we passed of we were going the right direction. This little boy we first met was so cute. He asked in spanish if we were looking for el mirador. I said "si" and he pointed up the steep path and said "ariba!" up! So we continued up this horribly steep hill...

I just spilled delicious popsicle all over myself.

Anyway, up the steep hill we ran into a group of boys and I asked again if we were going the right way. We were and one of the little boys took a liking to my lentes de sol, sunglasses. It was quite a trek but once we got there it was worth it. There was a stone bench that was strangely comfy. We chilled in the sun, looked out over Antigua and watched Fuego puff out some smoke. I hope it erupts tonight! (It didn't...)

Im feeling super anti-social. Maybe the after the week of continued socialization at the Yoga Forest and wanting to keep going, going, going has really made me tired. I could use another nap or just to sleep earlier...

There are mosquitoes are here. Those bastards.


9:06pm
We ate SO much Mexican food for dinner. Its someones 40th Birthday at the lodge today so a bunch of people who live here came and I can hear the singing from my room. Bummer, missed the cake.

After our hike, we just chilled at the lodge. Someone who stayed at the Yoga Forest when I was there is staying here tonight as well. It was good to see a familiar face.

Melanie and I had some drinks at happy hour and played bananagrams. Such a fun game.

Tonight is our last night at the Earth Lodge and then we head down to Antigua. Im kind of stressing about planning the rest of our trip but Im going to try and keep it easy and stress free for me. I also want to keep it pretty inexpensive since Im not rolling in the dough or anything...  Cheap can also be fun, especially in Guatemala!

Nighty night!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Red = Passion

Yesterday, I had a shit-eating grin as I was winding through local streets, pedaling and feeling the warm breeze in my hair. I recently, in the last month, moved to the DC area and have been struggling to fit in and find my place. This month, Ty and I got our own room in a place that we share with a few others that are our roommates in our new town. But there are still so many things that are missing in my life. I need yoga, rock climbing and freedom to get around on my own. On Tuesday afternoon, I took that first step at transportation freedom in the form of a two wheeled vehicle. I took the metro to Virginia which is a bit of a ride from my new home on the Maryland side. I stopped at one of the last metro stops and walked out into the sunny, nice weather. I was meeting someone from craigslist who was selling a little, red Schwinn bike. I exited the station and immediately saw the little red bike being held up by a sweet looking, older man. I introduced myself, took the bike for a...

Guatemala: Day One Adventure

The following is a conglomeration of journal writings that I made about my travel day to San Marcos, Guatemala and some additions to make it all run together smoothly: 11/5/15 6:60am Chicago I JUST made my first flight. It helped that the dude behind me in the security line was on my flight. We chatted a bit about travel and it eased my mind a little. I get so stressed out when Im not early... I had to take the earliest bus from Milwaukee at 4:30 am. I slept three hours. 10:55am ATL I think I smell... I didn't do that deodorant thing this morning. Whatever. I had less than an hour layover and had to run through the huge ATL airport to get to my gate. I got there with a bit of time though which is nice. Im between two not so fun humans. One is a very large man who thinks he can have half of my seat (though at least he seems nice) and an older woman who I don't think speaks good spanish or engligh. Also, when she's passed out its fine but as soon as she wakes up, the ...

Eating Like Crap is Crap

Im trying really hard not to spend money on food as there is so much food here at camp. Its not horrible food but its definitely not the best. So, with me trying not to spend money on food, I haven't been eating the greatest. I don't know if its because of other reasons, but Ive been feeling like shit lately and Im attributing it to lack of nutrients. I dont know how people eat crap all the time and survive. It must be a skill. I was eating alright about two weeks ago but this last week it hasn't been very pretty. Ive been a scavenger and theres been a lot of bread and fake meat and here is how I feel: Im tired ALL the time. No matter how many naps I take or hours I sleep a night, Im always exhausted by mid-day and just want to lay around, sleep and do nothing. Ive also been starting to get weak headaches throughout the day. Or having sore muscles from doing minimal exercise. That also makes me just want to do nothing. My stomach is also crazy. It hurts if I eat som...