Skip to main content

Thailand Street Food

Jet lag. It's a fierce thing. I woke up this morning so cranky and discombobulated but slept amazing when I did sleep. Tonight we go to bed early!

We had a slow day today as well trying to figure out how to get around and what to do in Thailand. There is an exercise room for our condo complex that we visited a little before noon. It was nice to get some movement in. Our host dropped of the scooter around that time. Ty needs some practice time before we take it anywhere far. So we got an app like uber called grab taxi. It's cheaper than getting a taxi off the street and then you know about how much it'll be before you even get in the car.

So we went out to lunch at local place with my friends boyfriend. Lots of sautéed veggies here in Thailand for us vegetarians.

After our late lunch, we were exhausted and needed a minute to relax before we got our grab taxi to Patong. It's a larger town near the ocean where we walked along the beach! There was a popular road that we walked along and got harassed by the locals to buy things and go places. I can deal with this type of thing when I'm awake and in a good mood but I'm so tired, I got annoyed real quick. They will shove menus and pictures in your face as you walk by and you have to walk around them and ignore them. It's quite obnoxious. And really, if you want my business, you have to leave me alone to make my own decision. I leave stores and don't go places if I'm being harassed.



Anyway, we met up with my friend and went to a place with a ton of street food. there were some delicious things. We sat on a stoop to eat our food and relax for a minute and after we were so exhausted that we decided getting home would be our best option.

So another short day relaxing day but we have plans for tomorrow so we will do more exciting things    

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Red = Passion

Yesterday, I had a shit-eating grin as I was winding through local streets, pedaling and feeling the warm breeze in my hair. I recently, in the last month, moved to the DC area and have been struggling to fit in and find my place. This month, Ty and I got our own room in a place that we share with a few others that are our roommates in our new town. But there are still so many things that are missing in my life. I need yoga, rock climbing and freedom to get around on my own. On Tuesday afternoon, I took that first step at transportation freedom in the form of a two wheeled vehicle. I took the metro to Virginia which is a bit of a ride from my new home on the Maryland side. I stopped at one of the last metro stops and walked out into the sunny, nice weather. I was meeting someone from craigslist who was selling a little, red Schwinn bike. I exited the station and immediately saw the little red bike being held up by a sweet looking, older man. I introduced myself, took the bike for a...

Guatemala: Day One Adventure

The following is a conglomeration of journal writings that I made about my travel day to San Marcos, Guatemala and some additions to make it all run together smoothly: 11/5/15 6:60am Chicago I JUST made my first flight. It helped that the dude behind me in the security line was on my flight. We chatted a bit about travel and it eased my mind a little. I get so stressed out when Im not early... I had to take the earliest bus from Milwaukee at 4:30 am. I slept three hours. 10:55am ATL I think I smell... I didn't do that deodorant thing this morning. Whatever. I had less than an hour layover and had to run through the huge ATL airport to get to my gate. I got there with a bit of time though which is nice. Im between two not so fun humans. One is a very large man who thinks he can have half of my seat (though at least he seems nice) and an older woman who I don't think speaks good spanish or engligh. Also, when she's passed out its fine but as soon as she wakes up, the ...

Eating Like Crap is Crap

Im trying really hard not to spend money on food as there is so much food here at camp. Its not horrible food but its definitely not the best. So, with me trying not to spend money on food, I haven't been eating the greatest. I don't know if its because of other reasons, but Ive been feeling like shit lately and Im attributing it to lack of nutrients. I dont know how people eat crap all the time and survive. It must be a skill. I was eating alright about two weeks ago but this last week it hasn't been very pretty. Ive been a scavenger and theres been a lot of bread and fake meat and here is how I feel: Im tired ALL the time. No matter how many naps I take or hours I sleep a night, Im always exhausted by mid-day and just want to lay around, sleep and do nothing. Ive also been starting to get weak headaches throughout the day. Or having sore muscles from doing minimal exercise. That also makes me just want to do nothing. My stomach is also crazy. It hurts if I eat som...